Paris City Summit

Hôtel de Lauzan at Île-Saint-Louis
Photo: Emilie Chaix – Ville de Paris

The Autonomy Paris City Summit which was organized in partnership with POLIS Network, and the City of Paris, hosted an interactive high-level event for political leaders in charge of mobility in leading cities at the Hôtel de Lauzun on Île Saint-Louis in the historical heart of Paris. 

25 deputy mayors, regional ministers and secretaries of state for mobility shared and discussed their perspectives on greener and more inclusive forms of urban mobility. The conversation ranged across topics linked to ways of reducing greenhouse gas emissions from the mobility sector, road safety concerns and how to wean away from predominant existing fuel sources.

Key Focus of the Paris City Summit 

Delegates spoke about how to translate political dialogue into real on the ground, climate action. They delved deep into the challenges that lie ahead and potential solutions for decarbonising mobility. 

“It is up to us, metropolises, regions, cities, and territories, to continue and intensify our efforts to transform and decarbonise mobility,” said David Belliard, Deputy mayor of Paris on Public Space, Transport and Mobility.

 

“Paris has spurred a whole new way of thinking about urban design; I feel we are at the birthplace of some of the concepts we are talking about today. Our collaboration with our peers across the Channel is crucial,” said Seb Dance, London’s Deputy Mayor for Transport, “In London, we are adapting road user behaviour, perhaps paving the way for others to take a similar approach.”

 

“Cities are a team; we cannot feel alone in this transformation. We are all working towards the same goal,” said Janet Sanz Cid, Deputy Mayor for the City of Barcelona. 

 

“People want action; they want to see change. They do not vote for politicians for them to hide, they want them to act,” said Elke Van den Brandt, Minister for Mobility for the Brussels Capital Region

​​

Reallocating urban spaces

One of the challenges discussed was the process of reallocating space towards more sustainable transport, implementing active travel infrastructure and adjusting urban freight flows. One such example can be seen in Barcelona, which has redesigned itself to accelerate public transportation. Barcelona has also shown that redesigning urban spaces is highly valued by citizens through its Superblock initiative, which is a network of green hubs and squares where pedestrians have priority. 

Paris has also taken a similar approach by closing certain streets to motorized traffic. There are over a 100 streets in Paris across different neighbourhoods that are pedestrianized. 

Engaging citizens

Another key challenge discussed was how local and regional authorities can work together with citizens to implement sustainable mobility solutions in cities and regions. London and Brussels discussed how they are using targeted messages to incentivize transport users to switch to more sustainable choices of mobility. London is creating a Low-Emission Zone and developing an Ultra-Low Emission Zone to improve air quality and transform the way traffic moves across the city.

Cities Present at the Paris City Summit

The diversity in cities was incredible, some of them included London, Paris, Buenos Aires, Brussels, Barcelona, Rio de Janeiro, Reggio Emilia, Częstochowa, as well as regions like Noord-Holland and Baden Württemberg. Even though the complexities of mobility challenges in the different cities and regions vary, it is still evident that having important discussions like this can result in solutions being tailored to address specific challenges unique to individual cities or regions. 

Bike ride in Paris

After the political discussions amongst the different city officials, an incredible bike ride was planned by the City of Paris and the Syndicat Autolib’ et Vélib’ Métropole, which provided Vélib-bikes for all participants. This wonderful experience was organized thanks to the cabinet of David Belliard, Deputy Mayor of Paris on Public Space, Transport and Mobility, who also happened to lead the bike tour! David Belliard took us for a tour across different historical neighbourhoods in Paris, including Rue de Rivoli and Place de la Concorde, as well as down new bike lanes at Quai des Tuileries and Quai François Mitterrand, right up to the river bank pedestrian zone until Pont Marie. 

In order to ensure that all the participants on the bike ride were safe, we had our partner Overade provide incredibly protective foldable helmets. The bike ride was a perfect way to end our interactive City Summit in Paris, since it was a great opportunity to connect with each other while biking and witnessing first hand the micro mobility options that the city has to offer. 

Secretary General of POLIS & Founder of Autonomy’s Views

“This summit offers a unique platform for local and regional political leaders holding the mobility portfolio to talk to each other, be inspired by each other’s successes as well as join forces to address barriers, while challenging each other to be ambitious in the big transport transformation ahead of us”, said Karen Vancluysen, POLIS Secretary General.

 

“The Paris City Summit could not have happened at a more important time. The idea behind the summit is to get cities together to discuss ways of reducing energy-intensive car use. The main motivation for starting Autonomy was to play a positive role in slowing global warming from transport emissions, and as unfolding global energy insecurities look to have ramifications for cities and regions, we see the need for sustained and concerted action. Now is not a time to take our eye off the ball,” said Ross Douglas, founder and CEO of Autonomy.

The entire list of political leaders that participated in the summit can be found below.

  • David Belliard, Vice Mayor, Ville de Paris 
  • Elke Zimmer, State Secretary, Region of Baden-Württemberg 
  • Janet Sanz Cid, Deputy Mayor, City of Barcelona 
  • Nora Abete, Deputy Mayor, City of Bilbao 
  • Elke van den Brandt, Minister for Mobility, Brussels Capital Region 
  • Samu Márton Balogh, Mayor’s Chief of Staff, City of Budapest 
  • Piotr Grzybowski, Vice-Mayor, City of Czestochowa 
  • Philip Broeksma, Vice Mayor, City of Groningen 
  • Bertrand Ayral, Vice President for Mobility, La Rochelle Agglomeration 
  • David Dessers, Deputy Mayor, City of Leuven, and POLIS President 
  • Seb Dance, Deputy Mayor for Transport, London 
  • Claire Holland, Vice-Chair, Transport and Environment Committee, London Councils 
  • Juan Corro Beseler, Chief Innovation Officer, EMT Madrid 
  • Federico Jiménez de Parga, General Coordinator of Mobility, Madrid City Council 
  • Jeroen Olthof, Deputy for Mobility and Accessibility, Province of Noord-Holland 
  • Carlotta Bonvicini, Alderman for Sustainable Policies, Comune di Reggio Emilia 
  • Eugenio Patanè, Deputy Mayor for Mobility, Roma Capitale 
  • Andrei Novikov, Deputy Mayor, City of Tallinn 
  • Marja Ruigrok, Member of the Executive Board, Amsterdam Transport Region 
  • Manuela Lopez Menendez, Secretary, City of Buenos Aires 
  • Maína Celidonio, Secretary, City of Rio de Janeiro

Institutional Partners

Paris City Summit

Hôtel de Lauzan at Île-Saint-Louis
Photo: Emilie Chaix – Ville de Paris

Le Paris City Summit, organisé par Autonomy en partenariat avec le POLIS Network et la Ville de Paris, fut un événement interactif de haut niveau pour les dirigeants politiques en charge de la mobilité dans les grandes villes, ayant lieu à l’Hôtel de Lauzun sur l’Île Saint-Louis, au cœur historique de Paris. 

25 Maires Adjoints, Ministres Régionaux et Secrétaires d’État à la mobilité ont partagé et discuté de leurs perspectives sur des formes de mobilité urbaine plus vertes et plus inclusives. La conversation a porté sur des sujets liés aux moyens de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre du secteur de la mobilité, aux préoccupations en matière de sécurité routière et à la manière de s’éloigner des sources de carburant prédominantes actuelles.

Principaux axes du Paris City Summit 

 

Les délégués ont discuté de la manière de traduire le dialogue politique en actions concrètes sur le terrain en faveur du climat. Ils se sont plongés dans les défis à venir et les solutions potentielles pour décarboniser la mobilité. 

 

« Il nous appartient, métropoles, régions, villes et territoires, de poursuivre et d’intensifier nos efforts pour transformer et décarboner la mobilité », a déclaré David Belliard, Adjoint à la Maire de Paris, Chargé de l’Espace public, des Transports et de la Mobilité.

 

« Paris a impulsé une toute nouvelle façon de penser l’aménagement urbain ; j’ai le sentiment que nous sommes au berceau de certains des concepts dont nous parlons aujourd’hui. Notre collaboration avec nos pairs d’outre-Manche est cruciale », a déclaré Seb Dance, Adjoint au Maire de Londres, Chargé des Transports. « À Londres, nous adaptons le comportement des usagers de la route, ouvrant peut-être la voie à d’autres qui adopteront une approche similaire.« 

 

« Les villes sont une équipe ; nous ne pouvons pas nous sentir seuls dans cette transformation. Nous travaillons tous vers le même objectif », a déclaré Janet Sanz Cid, Maire Adjointe de la Ville de Barcelone

 

« Les gens veulent de l’action ; ils veulent voir du changement. Ils ne votent pas pour des politiciens pour qu’ils se cachent, ils veulent qu’ils agissent », a déclaré Elke Van den Brandt, Ministre de la Mobilité de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

 

Réallocation des espaces urbains

 

L’un des défis abordés a été le processus de la réallocation de l’espace vers des transports plus durables, la mise en œuvre d’infrastructures de transport actif et l’ajustement des flux de marchandises urbains. Un tel exemple peut être observé à Barcelone, qui s’est réaménagée pour accélérer les transports publics. Barcelone a également montré que le réaménagement des espaces urbains est très apprécié des citoyens grâce à son initiative Superblock, qui est un réseau de carrefours et de places vertes où les piétons ont la priorité. 

 

Paris a également adopté une approche similaire en fermant certaines rues à la circulation motorisée. Il y a plus de 100 rues à Paris, dans différents quartiers, qui sont piétonnes. 

 

Engager les citoyens

 

Un autre défi majeur abordé a été la manière dont les autorités locales et régionales peuvent collaborer avec les citoyens pour mettre en œuvre des solutions de mobilité durable dans les villes et les régions. Londres et Bruxelles ont expliqué comment elles utilisent des messages ciblés pour inciter les usagers des transports à opter pour des choix de mobilité plus durables. Londres est en train de créer une zone à faibles émissions et de développer une zone à très faibles émissions pour améliorer la qualité de l’air et transformer la façon dont le trafic se déplace dans la ville.

 

Villes présentes au Paris City Summit

 

La diversité des villes était incroyable, parmi lesquelles Londres, Paris, Buenos Aires, Bruxelles, Barcelone, Rio de Janeiro, Reggio Emilia, Częstochowa, ainsi que des régions comme Noord-Holland et Baden-Württemberg. Même si la complexité des problèmes de mobilité varie d’une ville ou d’une région à l’autre, il est évident que des discussions importantes comme celle au Paris City Summit peuvent déboucher sur des solutions adaptées aux problèmes spécifiques de chaque ville ou région. 

 

Balade à vélo à Paris

 

Après les discussions politiques entre les différents responsables de la ville, une incroyable balade à vélo a été organisée par la Ville de Paris et le Syndicat Autolib’ et Vélib’ Métropole, qui a fourni des Vélibs à tous les participants. Cette belle expérience a été organisée grâce au cabinet de David Belliard, Adjoint à la Maire de Paris, Chargé de l’Espace public, des Transports et de la Mobilité, qui a également dirigé la randonnée à vélo ! David Belliard nous a emmenés depuis l’Île Saint-Louis à travers différents quartiers historiques de Paris, dont la rue de Rivoli et la Place de la Concorde, ainsi que sur les nouvelles pistes cyclables du Quai des Tuileries et du Quai François Mitterrand, jusqu’à la zone piétonne des Berges de Seine jusqu’à Pont Marie.

 

Afin d’assurer la sécurité de tous les participants à la balade à vélo, notre partenaire Overade a fourni des casques pliables protecteurs. La balade à vélo était une façon parfaite de terminer notre sommet interactif à Paris, car c’était une excellente occasion de se connecter les uns aux autres tout en faisant du vélo et en voyant de ses propres yeux la micromobilité que la ville a à offrir. 

 

Secrétaire général de POLIS et fondateur d’Autonomy

 

« Ce sommet offre une plateforme unique aux dirigeants politiques locaux et régionaux détenant le portefeuille de la mobilité pour se parler, s’inspirer des succès de chacun ainsi qu’unir leurs forces pour lever les obstacles, tout en se mettant au défi d’être ambitieux dans la grande transformation des transports qui nous attend« , a déclaré Karen Vancluysen, secrétaire générale de POLIS.

 

« Le Paris City Summit ne pouvait pas avoir lieu à un moment plus important. L’idée derrière ce sommet est de réunir les villes pour discuter des moyens de réduire l’utilisation intensive de la voiture. La principale motivation de la création d’Autonomy était de jouer un rôle positif dans le ralentissement du réchauffement climatique dû aux émissions des transports, et comme les insécurités énergétiques mondiales en cours semblent avoir des ramifications pour les villes et les régions, nous voyons la nécessité d’une action soutenue et concertée. Ce n’est pas le moment de perdre de vue notre objectif« , a déclaré Ross Douglas, fondateur et PDG d’Autonomy.

 

La liste complète des dirigeants politiques qui ont participé au sommet est disponible ci-dessous:

 

  • David Belliard, Maire Adjoint, Ville de Paris 
  • Elke Zimmer, Secrétaire d’État, Région de Baden-Württemberg 
  • Janet Sanz Cid, Adjointe au Maire, Ville de Barcelone 
  • Nora Abete, Adjointe au Maire, Ville de Bilbao 
  • Elke van den Brandt, Ministre de la Mobilité, Région de Bruxelles-Capitale 
  • Samu Márton Balogh, Chef de cabinet du Maire, Ville de Budapest 
  • Piotr Grzybowski, Maire Adjoint, Ville de Czestochowa 
  • Philip Broeksma, Maire Adjoint, Ville de Groningen 
  • Bertrand Ayral, Vice-Président de la Mobilité, Agglomération de La Rochelle 
  • David Dessers, Adjoint au Maire, Ville de Louvain, et Président de POLIS 
  • Seb Dance, Adjoint au Maire Chargé des Transports, Londres 
  • Claire Holland, Vice-Présidente de la Commission des Transports et de l’Environnement, London Councils 
  • Juan Corro Beseler, Directeur de l’Innovation, EMT Madrid 
  • Federico Jiménez de Parga, Coordinateur Général de la Mobilité, Conseil Municipal de Madrid 
  • Jeroen Olthof, Député pour la Mobilité et l’Accessibilité, Province de Noord-Holland 
  • Carlotta Bonvicini, Conseillère Municipale pour les Politiques Durables, Comune di Reggio Emilia 
  • Eugenio Patanè, Adjoint au Maire pour la Mobilité, Roma Capitale 
  • Andrei Novikov, Maire Adjoint, Ville de Tallinn 
  • Marja Ruigrok, Membre du Conseil d’Administration, Amsterdam Transport Region 
  • Manuela Lopez Menendez, Secrétaire aux Transports, Ville de Buenos Aires 
  • Maína Celidonio, Secrétaire aux Transports, Ville de Rio de Janeiro

Institutional Partners